Skip to content

Users Page

The Users page allows you to add and remove users, assign roles, and manage scoped domain access for your organisation. Whether you can have multiple users depends on your plan.

User management requires the Organisation Admin role.

Adding a User

Select the + button to add a user to your organisation. You will be prompted to provide the user's email address and select their role. The user will receive a welcome email when you add them to your organisation.

If you select a scoped role, assign the user's domain access from the Users page after adding them.

Assigning and Changing Roles

Each user can be assigned a specific role based on their responsibilities within the organisation. Roles determine which pages, reports, and actions they can access.

To assign or change a user's role:

  • Select the edit icon in the Role column.
  • Review the role descriptions and select the new role.
  • Select Assign role to apply the change.

Users who cannot change roles can still open the role panel to review the role descriptions. Pages and controls that a user does not have permission to use are hidden or show an access message.

The main roles are structured hierarchically, with each role including the permissions of the roles above it:

Role Additional permissions
Dashboard Viewer Read report data on the Dashboard
Viewer Read Domains and Insights
Organisation Reader Read Users, API status, and organisation details
Domain Manager Add domains; update domain references, tags, and parked status
Domain Admin Delete domains
Organisation Admin Manage billing, users, roles, the API, and organisation settings

Scoped roles are restricted variants rather than additional levels in the hierarchy:

Role Permissions
Scoped Dashboard Viewer The same read-only access as Dashboard Viewer, limited to assigned domains
Scoped Viewer The same read-only access as Viewer, limited to assigned domains

To prevent against locking yourself out, you cannot change your own role. This must be done while logged in as another user with the Organisation Admin role.

Scoped Domain Access

When at least one user has a scoped role, the Domain access column allows an Organisation Admin to assign up to 20 domains to each scoped user.

  • A scoped user with no assigned domains cannot see reporting data.
  • Access to an assigned domain includes reported traffic from its subdomains. If a subdomain has been added to VerifyDMARC as a separate domain, it must be assigned separately.
  • Removing a domain from the organisation also removes it from scoped users' access.

Removing a User

Select the delete icon next to a user to remove them from your organisation. When you remove a user, they will no longer be able to access your organisation's VerifyDMARC account. If the user belongs to multiple organisations, they will still be able to access their other organisations.

To prevent against locking yourself out, you cannot remove your own user. This must be done while logged in as another user with the Organisation Admin role.

Changing a User

When a user's email address needs to be changed, follow the Adding a User then Removing a User steps above.

If you are on the Personal plan that only includes one user, please email support@verifydmarc.com and we will assist.

Users who have left your organisation

VerifyDMARC is designed to be secure and privacy-focused. VerifyDMARC does not have passwords, and only allows users to authenticate via an email one-time code or Single Sign On (SSO).

This means that if a user leaves your organisation, they will no longer be able to access your organisation's VerifyDMARC account as long as you have blocked their account in your identity provider.

You should still remove the user from VerifyDMARC as soon as possible.

Last Access

Users with the Organisation Admin role can see a Last Access column showing when each user last accessed the organisation. Hover over this to see the last access date and date the user was added to the organisation. The dates are converted from UTC to local and displayed in YYYY-MM-DD format.

The Last Access column tags are colour coded to assist quick identification of users who have not recently accessed the organisation. The legend is in the column title tooltip.